What’s on

Scarth Hall hosts a wide range of events, open to everyone, and organised by Scarth Hall volunteers or other organisations. Just add your name to our mailing list (via contact us) to keep up-to-date with all upcoming events.

See the Scarth Hall Film Shows web page for upcoming film and family events, and Scarth Hall Live for a list of our Open Mic Nights and other live music events. Our facebook page Staindrop Scarth Hall Live has reviews and photos!

See Regular events for weekly and monthly classes and activities.


Saturday 23 June: Staindrop Gin Festival

The Festival is organised and run by Scarth Hall volunteers  and our Bar Manager. All proceeds go towards the running of the Hall and we’d love you to join us!

We’ve partnered with Durham Ginstitute to showcase 23 amazing gins  and we’ll also have a mouth-watering range of cocktails & mocktails as well a standard bar.

Entry for either session is £7.50 includes a welcome G & T, plus nibbles and snacks.

NEW!Anyone with an advance ticket (not pay on the door) for the afternoon session gets a free mocktail!

There’ll be a great music soundtrack at both sessions and great live music from Dukes of Scarth uke band in the evening.

Tickets from Ticketsource (also available from Staindrop Post Office):

Gin Festival Afternoon session (12.00 – 5.00 pm)

Gin Festival Evening session (7.00 pm – 11.30 pm)


Saturday 30 June: Staindrop’s Got Talent


Sunday 1 July: Craft Fair  10.00 am – 3.00 pm. Hosted by Chrissy’s Crafty Events. This is a monthly craft fair showcasing the crafts of small businesses and cottage industries from the north east of England. An opportunity to purchase genuine hand-made crafts.

Sunday 1 July: Comedy Night from Funny Way To Be:  Edinburgh Previews double bill with Chris Washington and Tom Houghton. Tickets from TicketSource.

Wednesday 4 July: Staindrop History Group open meeting 7.00 pm. Presentation by Lynn Defty entitled “The Telegram Boy”. All visitors welcome at a charge of £2.

Saturday 14 July: Staindrop Carnival refreshments – served in Scarth Hall

Friday 20 July: The Greatest Showman – singalong! Tickets online from TicketSource or from Staindrop Post Office.

Saturday 21 July: Jez Lowe solo concert. Tickets online from TicketSource or from Staindrop Post Office.


Sunday 5 August: Craft Fair  10.00 am – 3.00 pm. Hosted by Chrissy’s Crafty Events. This is a monthly craft fair showcasing the crafts of small businesses and cottage industries from the north east of England. An opportunity to purchase genuine hand-made crafts.


Sunday 2 September: Craft Fair  10.00 am – 3.00 pm. Hosted by Chrissy’s Crafty Events. This is a monthly craft fair showcasing the crafts of small businesses and cottage industries from the north east of England. An opportunity to purchase genuine hand-made crafts.

Saturday 8 September: Last Night of the Proms event

Friday 28 & Saturday 29 September: Staindrop Beer & Music Festival


Saturday 13 October: Comedy night from Funny Way To Be

Saturday 20 October: Smokin’ Spitfires

Friday 26 October: Hot Club du Nord gypsy/swing jazz quartet

Saturday 27 October (to be confirmed): Halloween Family Fun Night


Saturday 3 November: Church Tabletop sale

Saturday 17 November: Wind in the Willows (from Highlights Rural Touring)

Friday 30 November & Saturday 1 December: Staindrop Guides Pantomime


Friday 21 December (to be confirmed): Christmas Film Night/Christmas Fair

Monday 31 December (to be confirmed): New Year’s Eve party